The Anti-Anti-Anti-Pinterest Backlash

So, Pinterest. I looked at it awhile back and saw mostly pictures of models in pretty dresses, ambitiously-decorated baked goods, “thinspiration” bullshit, and maybe a funny baby or puppy pic here and there. Conclusion: it’s a cool platform to share banal, girly crap. So why have all my smart, awesome friends joined it in the past two months? (Edited to add: Including my husband).

Visiting its homepage today, the thinspo stuff seems to have gone away, but all else is unchanged. I suppose I can see the utility in having a convenient place to keep recipes and photos that you don’t want to lose (in case Evernote or good-old fashioned bookmarking d0esn’t work for you). But for the most part I see Pinterest as yet another high-tech avenue to make people (I mostly mean women here, the vast majority of Pinterest’s users) feel bad about everything they could be doing, but aren’t. People pin things that they clearly have no intention of ever attempting, because why? Because it tricks you into thinking that one day you’re going to get your shit together and be that crafty goddess. Spoiler alert: You will not.

I can’t find it now, but I remember a blog discussion about poor people who stupidly buy lottery tickets on the regular and maintain an unwavering sense of hope that they’ll win and all their financial problems will be solved. Someone pointed out that it’s really no different than upper-middle-class couples watching HGTV design shows or buying lifestyle magazines, thinking they’ll get ambitious and make their homes look just as beautiful one day. It’s all delusional, but at least those who buy a lottery ticket have a chance at winning the jackpot.

3 thoughts on “The Anti-Anti-Anti-Pinterest Backlash

  1. Zoe says:

    You seem like a kindred spirit! Pinterest is baffling to me and I was looking for some cultural commentary on it and your blog popped up. Best of luck with your reading and fitness goals! :)

  2. Anna says:

    Thank you for articulating so clearly what has been bugging me about Pinterest!

  3. [...] know it’s time for me to go back to work because I rejoined Pinterest and don’t hate it anymore. But to be fair, I’m only using it as a stockpiling tool for recipes that look good. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

