Second Trimester

I’ve avoided blogging about being pregnant because I figured it would cut my readership by two-thirds, and then I’d only have 2 people left reading. The main thing I can say is that pregnancy is really slow and sucks for those of us who are impatient. On a day-to-day basis, it’s really all about being an effective project manager for your uterus. Every day I have a mental checklist to tick off: Did I take my prenatal vitamin? Did I take my calcium supplement, but at a different time than the prenatal vitamin? Did I take the Vitamin D pills that are either way too low or way too high a dose depending on who you ask? Did I choke down a gigantic fish oil pill? Did I avoid trampolining, zip-lining, and roller coasters? Did I get enough sleep last night, did I eat enough protein, did I successfully avoid alcohol, drugs, tuna, soft unpasteurized cheeses, and sushi? Did I keep my caffeine intake below 200 mg?

It’s enough to make a person crazy.

Usually I check off all the boxes, plus second trimester is much kinder on the body than first trimester, so I have more energy and food doesn’t disgust me quite so fiercely. In a remarkably cruel twist of fate, pregnancy has given me the appetite and satiety signals of a normal person, so the one time in my life when (small-to-moderate) weight gain is approved is of course when I’m finding it hard to maintain my weight, let alone gain anything. I’ve actually lost a few pounds, which generally isn’t recommended, but I’m hoping if I just eat according to my body’s signals, little Flipper will get what he or she needs.

Other news of note:

  • At a visit last week, I got to hear the baby’s heartbeat and kicks through the Dopplar-radar stethoscope thingey. He or she has a very healthy heartbeat.
  • We learn the sex in something like 5-6 weeks. Given our family make-up, it will probably be a boy, but I kind of feel like it might be a girl.
  • We have names! One for a boy, one for a girl. The best advice anyone ever gave me was not to tell a soul before the baby’s born. Because people are assholes about names.
  • Despite having excellent insurance where I could deliver in an excellent hospital for just a handful of pennies, we are interviewing certified nurse-midwives for a potential home birth. We think we found a great one and are leaning towards this option despite having to pay out of pocket for it. I have a lot more to say about this topic, which I’ll do in future posts. In a nutshell, I believe that women’s bodies are not lemons, low-risk birth does not require massive medical intervention, and our current maternity care system is designed to advance the interests of ob-gyn’s and hospitals, not women and babies. (In general).
  • Every week my pregnancy iPhone apps dutifully tell me how much the fetus has grown, its new capabilities (blinking, making fists), and most importantly: what size of fruit its body now resembles. We’ve gone from poppy seed to blueberry to grape to fig to lime to lemon. Coming soon: orange and avocado!

Back to the checklist…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

